What is a Four Point Inspection?

A “Four Point Inspection” concentrates on four primary main features of the home:

  1. HVAC (Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning)
  2. Electrical wiring and panels
  3. Plumbing connections and fixtures
  4. Roof condition and remaining life expectancy

The inspection and report denote the condition and age of these features.

What is the importance of a 4 point inspection?

Insurance companies have become extremely disinclined to issue Homeowner Insurance Policies on homes usually older than 25 years old or more.
The insurance companies’ universal distress is that conditions may exist in an older home, which could create liabilities to them not found in newer homes. A good example would be a home with a roof at the end of its life expectancy and may fail while under the policy, thus the homeowner may seek reimbursement from their insurance company for damages to the home or furnishings. Further concerns are applicable to the condition of the HVAC, electrical and plumbing systems existing in an older home. If these primary features are in disrepair, should need updating, replaced, or even improperly installed, failure to function properly could cause fire or water damage to a home.

It is presumed by insurance companies that newer homes do not have these problems as often as older homes.

Do all insurance companies use a standard form?

Insurance companies do not provide a standard form for a 4 Point Inspection. There are insurance companies who provide their own forms; yet, most insurance companies do accept forms provided by companies performing home inspections. However, State Certified Inspector must complete them. I use Citizens digital form that satisfies the requirements of the insurance companies in Florida.